8110414079?profile=original

You can either be with your feelings … or turn to Ida Rolph
Perhaps you’ll permit me to expand a little more on the theory behind the article “It’s OK to Mope.” Especially since some of us are doing such deep clearing work round about now.

Some of us have grown up thinking that we need to resist our unwanted feelings. We may have been taught as children to control ourselves, be restrained, not give way to emotion, etc.
The Victorian generation, which I studied as a young historian many years ago, believed that we grew by suppression.

My generation at the time I was studying history was all about creative expression (letting it all hang out, etc.), but the Victorian generation was all about creative repression.
Their medical theories said that the body was a fixed energy system so that if we expressed our emotions, we’d bleed off energy from somewhere else in our bodies and therefore we’d faint, get hysterical, or break down completely as a functioning being.

So Victorian women, for instance, were often represented in novels as fainting when a really strapping fellow walked into the room. The sudden upwelling of emotion would allegedly do them in.
That was exactly the opposite of the theories of the 1960s, the Age of Aquarius or first New Age, so to speak.

Some people retained Victorian ideas. Others carried Sixties ideas to their logical conclusion and got so far into creative expression that marriages broke down under the “Free Love” ethic (my first marriage included) and we began the long, slow journey back to the middle again.

Meanwhile some wise thinkers like Werner Erhard (1) were having us see that what we resisted persisted. Resistance caused persistence. If we refused to experience our sorrow, or shame, or moping, but resisted them instead, those unwanted conditions would stick around forever.